Hematopathology Fellowship

The Department of Pathology and Cell Biology offers a one-year ACGME-accredited fellowship training in Hematopathology.

We aim in our training program to:

  • Train fellows in the field of diagnostic hematopathology to become competent diagnostic hematopathologists in an independent clinical setting.
  • Provide fellows with knowledge in the pathogenesis of hematologic disorders.
  • Provide fellows with opportunities to participate in various scholarly activities including a variety of conferences, research opportunities and publication.
  • Train fellows to function as mentor/teacher to other trainees and health providers.

Due to the great variety of hematologic conditions seen at our institution, the pathology specimen types are diverse, from adult and pediatric patients, representing neoplastic and non-neoplastic cases from Columbia University Irving Medical Center, Affiliated Hospitals, and New York Presbyterian Morgan Stanley Children’s Hospital.

Fellows learn to integrate routine morphology, immunophenotypic profiles, and state of the art molecular/cytogenetic analysis findings for appropriate diagnosis and classification of hematopoietic disorders. In addition to the main tissue-based diagnostic hematopathology training, fellows participate in other different activities of clinical pathology including state of the art flow cytometry, special Hematology and coagulation, cancer cytogenetics, and personalized genomic medicine.

Clinical Service Rotations

Fellows alternate covering the two major clinical service rotations focusing on diagnostic hematopathology. Immunophenotypic studies (Immunohistochemistry and Flow Cytometry) and other ancillary studies are incorporated as integral parts of both rotations.

  • Bone marrow pathology, pediatrics and adult patients.
  • Lymph node, peripheral blood and other body tissue/fluid diagnostic hematopathology, pediatrics and adult patients.

Elective Time/Off-Service Time

Each fellow has 8-10 weeks of elective/off-service time (including four weeks of vacation time) incorporated into the annual schedule of fellows' rotations. During these weeks, fellows are entirely free of all clinical service coverage/patient care responsibilities. This elective time can be used for various elective training activities, participation in a wide range of scholarly opportunities, and time to decompress and reduce pressure which is crucial to our fellows’ well-being.

Educational Conferences

Fellows participate in a variety of intra- and interdepartmental educational conferences held regularly.

  • Hematopathology/cytogenetics rounds (weekly): Focus on cancer cytogenetics of hematopathology cases (conventional karyotype and FISH analysis), and discuss how cytogenetic findings can contribute to diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment.
  • Molecular rounds (weekly): Focus on molecular studies of hematopathology cases (including targeted NGS studies, and B- and T-cell clonality studies, amongst others), and discuss how the molecular findings can contribute to diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment.
  • Literature updates and reviews (weekly): Prepared and presented by fellows to improve rapid acquisition of current hematopathology knowledge.
  • Hematology tumor boards: Organized by adult and pediatric hematology divisions, and held regularly to discuss neoplastic hematology cases with participation of multidisciplinary, inter-professional teams from different departments.

Research Activities

Fellows interested in research can take advantage of the extensive opportunities for translational investigations within the department or as collaborations with a host of groups conducting research throughout the medical center. An intermediate goal is a presentation at a national/international meeting, ideally leading to a publication in a peer-reviewed journal.


Applicants must have successfully completed training in combined anatomic and clinical pathology.


New York-Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia University Irving Medical Center will only accept J1 visas.

Duration and Location of Training

One year of ACGME Accredited training in Hematopathology.

All training is offered at one location: Department of Pathology and Cell Biology, Columbia University Irving Medical Center.

Number of Positions

Two ACGME accredited positions are offered per academic year.


Our fellowship program will participate in the anticipated hematopathology fellowship match program, endorsed by the Society for Hematopathology and administered by NRMP, more details will be available in the near future.

An approximate timeline for the match is as follows (exact dates may change):

For July 2026 appointment:

  • January 2025 - programs start interviewing
  • February 5, 2025 - match opens for registration to programs and applicants
  • March 12, 2025 - ranking opens
  • April 16 2025 - rank order list certification deadline
  • April 30, 2025 - match day
  • July 2026 – start of fellowship

Applications must include:

  • Personal Statement
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Three letters of recommendation.

Completed applications (including recommendation letters) may be emailed directly to the program coordinator: pathhptraining@cumc.columbia.edu.

Annual Salary and Benefits

Will be commensurate with training level (PGY), as determined by New York-Presbyterian Hospital policy.

Program Contact

Bachir Alobeid, MD
Program Director
Columbia University Medical Center
Department of Pathology and Cell Biology
630 West 168th Street, VC14-229
New York, NY 10032
Email: ba2024@cumc.columbia.edu

Marquis Fuse, MM
Manager, Education Programs
Department of Pathology and Cell Biology
Columbia University Irving Medical Center and New York Presbyterian Hospital
630 West 168th Street, PH 1587, New York, NY 10032
Tel: 212 305-9173 | Email: mlf2209@cumc.columbia.edu

Ramonita Ferreira
Residency and Fellowship Program Coordinator
Department of Pathology and Cell Biology
Tel: 212-305-5697
Email: rf2739@cumc.columbia.edu  cc: pathhptraining@cumc.columbia.edu


Current Hematopathology Fellows (2024 - 2025)

  • Michael Daniel, MD, PhD

    Michael Daniel, MD, PhD, CUIMC Pathology and Cell Biology
  • Jeffrey Thomas, DO

    Jeffrey Thomas, DO

Hematopathology Fellowship Graduates

  • Amy Ku (2023-2024)
  • Fernando Alekos Ocampo Gonzalez (2023-2024)
  • Fatima Iqbal (2022-2023)
  • Hibbah Nabeel (2022-2023)
  • Xiaoyan Huang (2021-2022)
  • Kenneth Ofori (2021-2022)
  • Wendy Lin (2020-2021)
  • Jirong (Betty) Mass (2020 - 2021)
  • Andrew Parrott (2019-2020)
  • Jacob Wooldridge (2019-2020)
  • Joseph Annunziata (2018-2019)
  • Taliya Farooq (2018-2019)
  • Smita Patel (2017-2018)
  • Yi Sun (2017-2018)
  • Patricia Raciti (2016-2017)
  • Anita Malek (2016-2017)
  • Rahul Matnani (2015-2016)
  • Nupam Patel (2015-2016)
  • Sarah Chaudhary (2014-2015)
  • Hashem Ayyad (2014-2015)
  • Kamraan Gill (2013-2014)
  • Ashleigh Allen (2013-2014)
  • Paul Hosking (2012-2013)
  • Yinghua Pang (2012-2013)
  • Shafinaz Hussein (2011-2012)
  • Tatyana Gindin (2011-2012)
  • John Cho Lee (2010-2011)
  • Gunjan Gupta (2009-2010)
  • Kar Fai Chow (2009-2010)
  • Miles Levin (2008-2009)
  • Wendy Yang (2008-2009)
  • Darryl A. Oble (2007-2008)
  • Deborah W. Sevilla (2007-2008)
  • Daniel Baiyee (2006-2007)
  • Raavi Gupta (2006-2007)
  • Manuel Menes (2005-2006)
  • Yingchao Piao (2005)
  • Xinlai Sun (2004-2005)
  • Jie-Gen Jiang (2003-2004)
  • Hediya Draoua (2002-2003)
  • Ira Miller (2003)
  • Govind Bhagat (2002)
  • Igor Shendrik (2000-2001)