Surgical Pathology Fellowship

We are no longer accepting fellowship applications for the 2022-2023 academic year.

The Department of Pathology and Cell Biology at Columbia University offers a one-year fellowship in general surgical pathology. This is an attending-level appointment as an assistant attending pathologist at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Columbia University Medical Center and has full sign-out privileges and responsibilities. The fellowship is designed to bring the fellow from the level of senior resident to attending pathologist by giving the fellow graded clinical responsibility for gross room supervision, microscopic sign-out of cases grossed by junior level residents, fine needle aspiration biopsy, and frozen section interpretation. The fellow is supervised and guided by 20 senior level attending pathologists. The Surgical Pathology Unit receives more than 34, 000 adult and pediatric surgical specimens and 6,000 non-gynecologic cytology specimens per year. Excellent opportunities exist for clinical, translational, and basic science research within the Department of Pathology.


The candidate must have completed an approved anatomic and clinical pathology training program. A New York State medical license is required for appointment as an assistant attending at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital; this allows the fellow to independently sign-out cases. For more information, please contact the New York State Education Department at (518) 474-3817 or at the website:

Types and Numbers of Appointments

Two positions are available per academic year. We are no longer accepting fellowship applications for the 2022-2023 academic year.


Applications for the 2021-2022 year must include:

  • Personal Statement
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Three letters of recommendation.

Completed applications (including recommendation letters) may be emailed directly to the program coordinator:

Program Director

Ladan Fazlollahi, MD
Program Director, Surgical Pathology Fellowship
Columbia University Medical Center
Department of Pathology and Cell Biology
630 West 168th Street, VC14-215B
New York, NY 10032

Program Coordinator


Current Surgical Pathology Fellows

 Andrew Parrott (2020 - 2021)  

Surgical Pathology Fellowship Graduates

Sonya Purushothaman (2019 - 2020) Mary Rosenblatt (2019 - 2020)
Marilyn Nedumcheril (2017-2019) Smita Patel (2018-2019)
Simon Sung (2017-2018) Diana Sung (2016-2017)
Dongwei Zhang (2016-2017) Anne Koehne de Gonzalez (2015-2016)
Ladan Fazlollahi (2015-2016) Jennifer Oliver-Krasinski (2014-2015)
James Mitchell (2014-2015) Jonas Heymann (2013-2014)
Nariman Gobara (2013-2014) Andrew Turk (2012-2013)
Denisa Slova (2011-2012) Marcela Salomao (2011-2012)
Stephen Lagana (2011-2012) Abel Gonzalez (2010-2011)
Zvika Jacob Schreiber (2010-2011)