Two Department Faculty Members Elected to AMP 2019 Leadership Positions

July 12, 2019

On July 1st, the Association for Molecular Pathology (AMP), the premier global, molecular diagnostics professional society, announced the results of its recent elections for 2019 Leadership positions.

Among these elections, Antonia R. Sepulveda, MD, PhD (right), was elected as President-Elect of the AMP, and Susan J. Hsiao, MD, PhD (left), was elected to the Solid Tumors Clinical Practice Committee.

The Association for Molecular Pathology (AMP) was founded in 1995 to provide structure and leadership to the emerging field of molecular diagnostics. AMP members are pathologists, clinical laboratory directors, basic and translational scientists, technologists, and trainees that practice in a variety of settings including academic and community medical centers, government, and industry. Through the efforts of its Board of Directors, Committees, Working Groups, and Members, AMP is the primary resource for expertise, education, and collaboration in one of the fastest growing fields in healthcare. AMP members influence policy and regulation on the national and international levels, ultimately serving to advance innovation in the field and protect patient access to high quality, appropriate testing.

“I am honored to take this role with AMP, and very proud to see other Columbia faculty in AMP leadership roles, including Susan Hsiao as a member of the clinical practice committee and Helen Fernandes as a member of the AMP awards committee and advisor to the international affairs committee”, said Dr. Sepulveda.

Congratulations, Dr. Sepulveda and Dr. Hsiao.