Dr. Joseph Schwartz Selected as Recipient of 2019 Hemphill-Jordan Leadership Award

Dr. Joseph Schwartz, MD, MPH, Professor of Pathology and Cell Biology, has been selected as the recipient of AABB’s 2019 Hemphill-Jordan Leadership Award. This award, renamed in 2005 after Bernice Hemphill, W. Quinn Jordan, and Joel Solomon, honors leaders from the transfusion medicine and cellular therapy community. The award recognizes an individual who made significant contributions in the areas of administration, quality programs, law and/or government affairs. The individual shall have demonstrated leadership qualities and a consistent willingness to lend his/her expertise to his/her peers. It may recognize one particular act or an accumulation of years of contributions.

As the Award recipient, Dr. Schwartz is expected to give a lecture during the 2019 AABB Annual Meeting, to be held Oct. 19-22, 2019, in San Antonio, Texas, where the award will be presented.

Congratulations to Dr. Schwartz for receiving this remarkable award!


Honor, Transfusion Medicine, Cellular Therapy